People

Undergraduate Students
Sarim Abbas
Class of 2020, Pauli Murray College
sarim.abbas@yale.edu
view
Maxim Baranov
Class of 2018, Ezra Stiles College
maxim.baranov@yale.edu
view
Annie Chen
Class of 2019, Ezra Stiles College
annie.chen@yale.edu
view
Ken Cheng
Class of 2019, Timothy Dwight College
ken.cheng@yale.edu
view
Elizabeth Coquillette
Class of 2018, Calhoun College
elizabeth.coquillette@yale.edu
view
Tony Fu
Class of 2020, Pauli Murray College
tony.fu@yale.edu
view
Katherine Hofmann
Class of 2020, Berkeley College
katherine.hofmann@yale.edu
view
Jessica Hong
Class of 2019, Morse College
jessica.hong@yale.edu
view
Priyanka Krishnamurthi
Class of 2018, Ezra Stiles College
priyanka.krishnamurthi@yale.edu
view
Andrew Krzywosz
Class of 2020, Trumbull College
andrew.krzywosz@yale.edu
view
Alexander Ringlein
Class of 2018, Branford College
alexander.ringlein@yale.edu
view
Lucas Sanford
Class of 2018, Trumbull College
lucas.sanford@yale.edu
view
Zong Xuan Tan
Class of 2018, Davenport College
zongxuan.tan@yale.edu
view
Kendrick Umstattd
Class of 2019, Benjamin Franklin College
kendrick.umstattd@yale.edu
view
Chunyang Xie
Class of 2020, Ezra Stiles College
clark.xie@yale.edu
view
Postdocs and Fellows
Laura Boccanfuso
Postdoc Assoc Child Study Ctr
230 S. Frontage Rd, New Haven, CT 06519-1124
laura.boccanfuso@yale.edu
Phone: 203-764-5933
Website

Laura Boccanfuso is a Postdoctoral Associate in the Technology and Innovation Lab at the Yale Child Study Center. She received her Ph.D. in Computer Science from the University of South Carolina. Her primary research focus is designing and developing new socially assistive robots to improve therapeutic outcomes in young children with autism spectrum disorder (ASD). Her work also includes
view

Chien-Ming Huang
Postdoctoral Associate
51 Prospect St, New Haven, CT 06511-8937
chien-ming.huang@yale.edu
Website
Chien-Ming Huang is a Postdoctoral Associate working with Dr. Brian Scassellati at Yale University. His research spans the fields of robotics and human-computer interaction with the mission to develop assistive robot systems to improve people’s quality of life. In his Ph.D. research, Dr. Huang modeled and developed social behaviors and coordination mechanisms for robots to assist people in
view
Olivier Mangin
Postdoctoral Associate
51 Prospect St, New Haven, CT 06511-8937
olivier.mangin@yale.edu
Phone: 1 203 432 1229
Website
Olivier Mangin is a developmental and social robotics researcher, now a postdoctoral associate in Prof. Scassellati’s laboratory. His interest lies in understanding how structure may appear in the sensorimotor interaction between an infant or robot and its environment. In particular he studies the development of linguistic behaviors as well as the
view
Alessandro Roncone
Postdoctoral Associate
51 Prospect St, New Haven, CT 06511-8937
alessandro.roncone@yale.edu
Phone: 1 203 432 1229
Website

Alessandro Roncone received his BS in Biomedical Engineering and MS in NeuroEngineering at theUniversità degli Studi di Genova. In April 2015 he got a Ph.D. in Robotics, Cognition and Interaction Technologies
view

Graduate Students
Jake Brawer
1st Year Graduate Student
jake.brawer@yale.edu

Jake received his BA in Cognitive Science with a minor in Computer Science from Vassar College. He is interested in bio-inspired design approaches to robot architectures and morphologies. He is particularly interested in how robots learn, navigate, and plan goals in dynamic environments.


view
Elena Corina Grigore
5th Year PhD Student, Computer Science
elena.corina.grigore@yale.edu
Website
Research Interests:
 
My passion in research is to apply machine learning techniques to the field of robotics in order to create autonomous robots capable of learning useful behaviors in dynamic environments. In order to achieve the wide array of functionalities we want robots to have in the future, we need to come up with dependable learning
view
Ahsan Nawroj
PhD Candidate, Mechanical Engineering
15 Prospect St, New Haven, CT 06511-6816
ahsan.nawroj@yale.edu
Phone: 905-8178
Website

Ahsan is a 4th year graduate student at the Social Robotics Lab and the GRABLab at Yale University, supervised by Dr. Brian Scassellati and Dr. Aaron Dollar respectively. Ahsan specializes in the design and fabrication of research-oriented robotic systems; at the Social Robotics Lab, he uses his systems to study non-verbal behaviors in human-robot communication.


view
Meiying Qin
1st Year Graduate Student
meiying.qin@yale.edu

Meiying is a first year Ph.D student. She has completed a double major in Psychology and Computer Science as an undergrad at the University of Toronto. She also hold a Bachelor degree in Life Science at Peking University. She is interested in human-robot interaction and animal cognition.


view
Aditi Ramachandran
5th Year PhD Student, Computer Science
aditi.ramachandran@yale.edu
Website
Aditi is interested in how machine learning and AI techniques apply to robotics. In particular, she is interested in how robots can use adaptive techniques to maintain meaningful long-term interaction in a dynamic environment.

Prior to coming to Yale, Aditi graduated from Georgetown University in 2010 and then spent two years working at The Mitre Corporation in McLean,
view

Nicole Salomons
1st Year Graduate Student
nicole.salomons@yale.edu

Nicole Salomons got her BS degree in Computer Science at The Federal University of Parana in Brazil. She is currently a first year PhD student at the Social Robotics Lab. She is interested in artificial intelligence, human-robot interaction and computer vision. Especially robots which assist humans in their daily lives.


view
Sarah Sebo, 3rd Year PhD Student
sarah.sebo@yale.edu
Website

Sarah is a third year PhD student in the Social Robotics Laboratory. She is interested in socially assistive robotics, machine learning, artificial intelligence, and human-robot interaction. 


view
Staff
Larissa Hall, M.S. Interactive Media
Lab Manager and Outreach Coordinator
51 Prospect St, New Haven, CT 06511-8937
larissa.hall@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1209
Website

I manage the day-to-day activities and outreach for the lab. My hours are M W F 9AM-5PM.


view
Faculty
Brian Scassellati, Ph.D.
Professor of Computer Science & Mechanical Engineering & Materials Science
51 Prospect St, New Haven, CT 06511-8937
brian.scassellati@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1219
Website
 

Brian Scassellati is a Professor of Computer Science, Cognitive Science, and Mechanical Engineering at Yale University and Director of the NSF Expedition on Socially Assistive Robotics. His research focuses on building embodied computational models of human social behavior, especially the developmental progression of early social skills. Using computational modeling and socially
view