People

Undergraduate Students
Sarim Abbas
Class of 2020, Pauli Murray College
sarim.abbas@yale.edu
view
Maxim Baranov
Class of 2018, Ezra Stiles College
maxim.baranov@yale.edu
view
Annie Chen's picture Annie Chen
Class of 2019, Ezra Stiles College
annie.chen@yale.edu
view
Ken Cheng
Class of 2019, Timothy Dwight College
ken.cheng@yale.edu
view
Elizabeth Coquillette
Class of 2018, Calhoun College
elizabeth.coquillette@yale.edu
view
Tony Fu
Class of 2020, Pauli Murray College
tony.fu@yale.edu
view
Katherine Hofmann
Class of 2020, Berkeley College
katherine.hofmann@yale.edu
view
Jessica Hong
Class of 2019, Morse College
jessica.hong@yale.edu
view
Priyanka Krishnamurthi
Class of 2018, Ezra Stiles College
priyanka.krishnamurthi@yale.edu
view
Andrew Krzywosz
Class of 2020, Trumbull College
andrew.krzywosz@yale.edu
view
Alexander Ringlein
Class of 2018, Branford College
alexander.ringlein@yale.edu
view
Lucas Sanford
Class of 2018, Trumbull College
lucas.sanford@yale.edu
view
Zong Xuan Tan
Class of 2018, Davenport College
zongxuan.tan@yale.edu
view
Kendrick Umstattd's picture Kendrick Umstattd
Class of 2019, Benjamin Franklin College
kendrick.umstattd@yale.edu
view
Chunyang Xie
Class of 2020, Ezra Stiles College
clark.xie@yale.edu
view
Graduate Students
Jake Brawer's picture Jake Brawer
Graduate School Student
jake.brawer@yale.edu
Website

Jake received his BA in Cognitive Science with a minor in Computer Science from Vassar College. He is interested in bio-inspired design approaches to robot architectures and morphologies. He is particularly interested in how robots learn, navigate, and plan goals in dynamic environments.


view
Elena Corina Grigore's picture Elena Corina Grigore
6th Year PhD Student, Computer Science
elena.corina.grigore@yale.edu
Website
My passion in research is to apply machine learning techniques to the field of robotics in order to create autonomous robots capable of learning useful behaviors in dynamic environments. In order to achieve the wide array of functionalities we want robots to have in the future, we need to come up with dependable learning techniques that make it possible for the robot learn from
view
Meiying Qin's picture Meiying Qin
Graduate School Student
meiying.qin@yale.edu

Meiying is a second year Ph.D student. She has completed a double major in Psychology and Computer Science as an undergrad at the University of Toronto. She also hold a Bachelor degree in Life Science at Peking University. She is interested in human-robot interaction and animal cognition.


view
Aditi Ramachandran's picture Aditi Ramachandran
6th Year PhD Student, Computer Science
aditi.ramachandran@yale.edu
Website
Aditi is interested in how machine learning and AI techniques apply to robotics. In particular, she is interested in how robots can use adaptive techniques to maintain meaningful long-term interaction in a dynamic environment.

Prior to coming to Yale, Aditi graduated from Georgetown University in 2010 and then spent two years working at The Mitre Corporation in McLean,
view

Nicole Salomons's picture Nicole Salomons
2nd Year Graduate Student
nicole.salomons@yale.edu

Nicole Salomons got her BS degree in Computer Science at The Federal University of Parana in Brazil. She is currently a second year PhD student at the Social Robotics Lab. She is interested in artificial intelligence, human-robot interaction and computer vision. Especially robots which assist humans in their daily lives.


view
Sarah Sebo's picture Sarah Sebo, 4th Year PhD Student
Graduate School Student
sarah.sebo@yale.edu
Website

Sarah is a fourth year PhD student in the Social Robotics Laboratory. She is interested in socially assistive robotics, machine learning, artificial intelligence, and human-robot interaction. 


view
Postdocs and Fellows
Olivier Mangin's picture Olivier Mangin
Postdoctoral Associate
51 Prospect St, New Haven, CT 06511-8937
olivier.mangin@yale.edu
Phone: 1 203 432 1229
Website
Olivier Mangin is a developmental and social robotics researcher, now a postdoctoral associate in Prof. Scassellati’s laboratory. His interest lies in understanding how structure may appear in the sensorimotor interaction between an infant or robot and its environment. In particular he studies the development of linguistic behaviors as well as the
view
Alessandro Roncone's picture Alessandro Roncone
Postdoctoral Associate
51 Prospect St, New Haven, CT 06511-8937
alessandro.roncone@yale.edu
Phone: 1 203 432 1229
Website

Alessandro Roncone is a Postdoctoral Associate at the Social Robotics Lab in Yale University, under the supervision of Prof. Brian Scassellati. The scope of his current research is within the larger field of human–robot collaboration and advanced manufacturing. He implements transparent, human–centered technologies where robots transition from being
view

Faculty
Brian Scassellati's picture Brian Scassellati, Ph.D.
Professor of Computer Science & Mechanical Engineering & Materials Science
51 Prospect St, New Haven, CT 06511-8937
brian.scassellati@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1219
Website
 

Brian Scassellati is a Professor of Computer Science, Cognitive Science, and Mechanical Engineering at Yale University and Director of the NSF Expedition on Socially Assistive Robotics. His research focuses on building embodied computational models of human social behavior, especially the developmental progression of early social skills. Using computational modeling and socially
view