People

Faculty
Brian Scassellati's picture Brian Scassellati, Ph.D.
Professor of Computer Science & Mechanical Engineering & Materials Science
51 Prospect St, New Haven, CT 06511-8937
brian.scassellati@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1219
Website
 

Brian Scassellati is a Professor of Computer Science, Cognitive Science, and Mechanical Engineering at Yale University and Director of the NSF Expedition on Socially Assistive Robotics. His research focuses on building embodied computational models of human social behavior, especially the developmental progression of early social skills. Using computational modeling and socially
view

Graduate Students
Emmanuel Adeniran's picture Emmanuel Adeniran
4th Year PhD Student
emmanuel.adeniran@yale.edu
Emmanuel is a PhD student interested in theory of mind and the effects of robot embodiment on people.  He enjoys listening to interesting podcasts and working out in the gym and with occasional runs down scenic routes.

view
Jake Brawer's picture Jake Brawer
7th Year PhD Student
jake.brawer@yale.edu
Website

Jake received his BA in Cognitive Science with a minor in Computer Science from Vassar College. He is interested in bio-inspired design approaches to robot architectures and morphologies. He is particularly interested in designing systems that can both learn, and reason about their learning in a manner that is transparently communicable and intuitive to human users.


view
Kate Candon's picture Kate Candon
3rd Year PhD Student
kate.candon@yale.edu

Kate earned a B.S. in Mathematics with Computer Science from MIT. She is interested in artificial intelligence, machine learning, human-robot interaction, and socially assistive robots. She is particularly interested in health care and elder care settings.


view
Nicholas Georgiou's picture Nicholas Georgiou
4th Year PhD Student
nicholas.georgiou@yale.edu

Nick earned a double major in Computer Science and Computer Engineering, along with a minor in Business, from the University of Virginia. He is interested in artificial intelligence, socially assistive robotics, and human-robot interaction.


view
Debasmita Ghose's picture Debasmita Ghose,
4th Year PhD Student
debasmita.ghose@yale.edu
Website
Debasmita earned a BS in Electronics and Communication Engineering from Manipal University, India and an MS in Computer Science from UMass Amherst. Her areas of interest include robotic manipulation, machine learning, computer vision,  and embedded system development. She is keen on exploring Human-Robot Interaction in industrial settings. 

view
Ellie Mamantov's picture Ellie Mamantov
2nd Year PhD Student
ellie.mamantov@yale.edu

Ellie earned a B.A. in Computer Science and Psychology from Carleton College. She is interested in socially assistive robotics and artificial intelligence. She is particularly excited about the intersection of human-robot interaction and mental health and wellness.


view
Kayla Matheus's picture Kayla Matheus
3rd Year PhD Student
kayla.matheus@yale.edu
Website
Kayla received her undergraduate degree in Mechanical Engineering and Art from Yale University in 2011. After working for multiple years in the design thinking and technology startup spaces, she discovered her passion for HRI while founding the behavior change startup, MOTI. Now, she is excited to dive deep into how socially assistive robots can be best designed across the hardware and
view
Austin Narcomey's picture Austin Narcomey
2nd Year PhD Student
austin.narcomey@yale.edu

Austin earned a B.S. and M.S. in Computer Science from Stanford, and focused on artificial intelligence. He is currently a first year PhD student, and he previously conducted research under the advising of Fei-Fei Li of the Vision Lab and Michael Bernstein of the HCI Group and their joint PhD student Ranjay Krishna. Austin is interested in applying methods in deep learning, computer
view

Rebecca Ramnauth's picture Rebecca Ramnauth
4th Year PhD Student
rebecca.ramnauth@yale.edu
Website

Rebecca received her MS and BS degrees in Computer Science at Long Island University. She is currently a Ph.D. student at the Social Robotics Lab interested in computational creativity for children with learning disabilities.
 


view
Nathan Tsoi's picture Nathan Tsoi
3rd Year PhD Student
nathan.tsoi@yale.edu
Website

Nathan is a computer scientist working on research in machine learning, computer vision and robotics. Previously, Nathan has conducted research at Stanford University in the Stanford Vision and Learning Lab under Silvio Savarese and have worked on machine learning and data engineering at Sequoia. For fun, Nathan enjoys designing
view

Undergraduate Students
Adérónké Adéjàre's picture Adérónké Adéjàre
Saybrook College, Class of 2024
aderonke.adejare@yale.edu
view
Jonathan Dallard's picture Jonathan Dallard
Silliman College, Class of 2022
john.dallard@yale.edu
view
Kaleb Gezahegn's picture Kaleb Gezahegn
Grace Hopper College, Class of 2023
kaleb.gezahegn@yale.edu
view
Rohit Giridharan's picture Rohit Giridharan
Saybrook College, Class of 2022
rohit.giridharan@yale.edu
view
Julian Lee's picture Julian Lee
Silliman College, Class of 2025
julian.lee@yale.edu
view
Michael Lee
Silliman College, Class of 2024
michael.h.lee@yale.edu
view
Michal Lewkowicz's picture Michal Lewkowicz
Benjamin Franklin College, Class of 2024
michal.lewkowicz@yale.edu
view
Ariel Melendez's picture Ariel Melendez
Pauli Murray College, Class of 2023
a.melendez@yale.edu
view
Caroline Reiner
Pauli Murray College, Class of 2023
caroline.reiner@yale.edu
view
Lila Selin's picture Lila Selin
Timothy Dwight College, Class of 2023
lila.selin@yale.edu
view
Tom Wallenstein's picture Tom Wallenstein
Silliman College, Class of 2021
tom.wallenstein@yale.edu
view