People

Undergraduate Students
Sarim Abbas
Class of 2020, Pauli Murray College
sarim.abbas@yale.edu
view
Emir Akdere's picture Emir Akdere
Morse College, Class of 2021
emir.akdere@yale.edu
view
Kayleigh Bishop
Class of 2020, Timothy Dwight College
kayleigh.bishop@yale.edu
view
Ken Cheng
Class of 2019, Timothy Dwight College
ken.cheng@yale.edu
view
Elizabeth Coquillette
Class of 2018, Calhoun College
elizabeth.coquillette@yale.edu
view
Devon Doheny's picture Devon Doheny
Berkeley College, Class of 2020
devon.doheny@yale.edu
view
Tony Fu
Class of 2020, Pauli Murray College
tony.fu@yale.edu
view
Rohit Giridharan's picture Rohit Giridharan
Saybrook College, Class of 2022
rohit.giridharan@yale.edu
view
Sean Hackett's picture Sean Hackett
Class of 2020, Grace Hopper College
sean.hackett@yale.edu
view
Katherine Hofmann
Class of 2020, Berkeley College
katherine.hofmann@yale.edu
view
Andrew Krzywosz
Class of 2020, Trumbull College
andrew.krzywosz@yale.edu
view
Tom Wallenstein's picture Tom Wallenstein
Silliman College, Class of 2021
tom.wallenstein@yale.edu
view
Sarah Widder's picture Sarah Widder
Berkeley College, Class of 2020
sarah.widder@yale.edu
view
Chunyang Xie
Class of 2020, Ezra Stiles College
clark.xie@yale.edu
view
Shannon Yasuda's picture Shannon Yasuda
Berkeley College, Class of 2020
shannon.yasuda@yale.edu
view
Graduate Students
Tim Adamson's picture Tim Adamson
Graduate School Student
tim.adamson@yale.edu
Website

Tim earned a B.S. in Civil Engineering at the University of Washington with a minor in Computer Science. He began research in the field of HRI in early 2017, and is especially drawn to the areas of Social Robotics, robots in the wild, and robots interacting with groups of people. 


view
Emmanuel Adeniran's picture Emmanuel Adeniran
Graduate School Student
emmanuel.adeniran@yale.edu
Emmanuel is a PhD student interested in theory of mind and the effects of robot embodiment on people.  He enjoys listening to interesting podcasts and working out in the gym and with occasional runs down scenic routes.

view
Jake Brawer's picture Jake Brawer
Graduate School Student
jake.brawer@yale.edu
Website

Jake received his BA in Cognitive Science with a minor in Computer Science from Vassar College. He is interested in bio-inspired design approaches to robot architectures and morphologies. He is particularly interested in designing systems that can both learn, and reason about their learning in a manner that is transparently communicable and intuitive to human users.


view
Nicholas Georgiou's picture Nicholas Georgiou
Graduate School Student
nicholas.georgiou@yale.edu

Nick received a double major in Computer Science and Computer Engineering, along with a minor in Business, from the University of Virginia. He is interested in artificial intelligence, socially assistive robotics, and human-robot interaction.


view
Debasmita Ghose's picture Debasmita Ghose
Graduate School Student
debasmita.ghose@yale.edu
Website
Debasmita earned a BS in Electronics and Communication Engineering from Manipal University, India and an MS in Computer Science from UMass Amherst. Her areas of interest include robotic manipulation, machine learning, computer vision,  and embedded system development. She is keen on exploring Human-Robot Interaction in industrial settings. 

view
Meiying Qin's picture Meiying Qin
Graduate School Student
meiying.qin@yale.edu

Meiying is a second year Ph.D student. She has completed a double major in Psychology and Computer Science as an undergrad at the University of Toronto. She also hold a Bachelor degree in Life Science at Peking University. She is interested in human-robot interaction and animal cognition.


view
Rebecca Ramnauth's picture Rebecca Ramnauth
Graduate School Student
rebecca.ramnauth@yale.edu
Website

Rebecca received her MS and BS degrees in Computer Science at Long Island University. She is currently a Ph.D. student at the Social Robotics Lab interested in computational creativity for children with learning disabilities.
 


view
Nicole Salomons's picture Nicole Salomons
4th Year Graduate Student
nicole.salomons@yale.edu

Nicole Salomons got her BS degree in Computer Science at The Federal University of Parana in Brazil. She is currently a third year PhD student at the Social Robotics Lab. She is interested in artificial intelligence, tutoring systems, and computer vision. Her current work is on creating skill aware robots in collaborative manufacturing settings
view

Sarah Sebo's picture Sarah Sebo, 6th Year PhD Student
Graduate School Student
sarah.sebo@yale.edu
Website

Sarah is a fourth year PhD student in the Social Robotics Laboratory. She is interested in socially assistive robotics, machine learning, artificial intelligence, and human-robot interaction. 


view
Nathan Tsoi's picture Nathan Tsoi
Graduate School Student
nathan.tsoi@yale.edu
Website

Nathan is a computer scientist working on research in machine learning, computer vision and robotics. Previously, Nathan has conducted research at Stanford University in the Stanford Vision and Learning Lab under Silvio Savarese and have worked on machine learning and data engineering at Sequoia. For fun, Nathan enjoys designing
view

Faculty
Brian Scassellati's picture Brian Scassellati, Ph.D.
Professor of Computer Science & Mechanical Engineering & Materials Science
51 Prospect St, New Haven, CT 06511-8937
brian.scassellati@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1219
Website
 

Brian Scassellati is a Professor of Computer Science, Cognitive Science, and Mechanical Engineering at Yale University and Director of the NSF Expedition on Socially Assistive Robotics. His research focuses on building embodied computational models of human social behavior, especially the developmental progression of early social skills. Using computational modeling and socially
view